California Law Now States All Pet Stores Must Only Have Rescues

A Huge Step Forward In Combating Animal Factories While Promoting #AdoptDontShop

By Justyne Yuen-Lee

I dream a dream where I lunch with my friends and our puppies on a beautiful summer day. My puppy and I have been together since day one – from my research of reputable breeders, to hearing about some “accidental” puppies from my neighbors who need homes, I don’t know where my perfect puppy will come from but I know once it’s mine, it will be with me forever. Not to sound dramatic or anything, but the last time I saw that doggy in the window of a pet store, I just wanted to pick him up and free him. As a millennial, saving up for anything seems to be ten times harder than it was for baby boomers, so my dream fits within these parameters – small apartment with a small dog. What more could you need?

Unfortunately, the origin of animals in pet stores is often not so idyllic.

Have you ever wondered how pet stores get their animals?


I don’t see many pet stores where I live anymore – the last being over 10 years ago. But in the United States, according to The Doginton Post, in 2013 there were over 5000 legal puppy mills, not to mention countless illegal ones. Sadly, puppy mills do supply pet stores with dogs who are kept in deplorable conditions (we will save you the horrific photos, and warn you if you Google, your heart will break). In our capitalistic society, profit drives us, and the pet world is not immune to this. To keep up with the high demand for adorable puppies and kittens, puppy and kitten factories were born. New owners are often blissfully ignorant of what these animals went through before appearing in store windows.


The state of California has introduced a new law that will change the way animals are sold in pet stores.


Back in 2016, the city of Los Angeles introduced a law that pet stores were only permitted to promote and adopt out animals from shelters and registered rescue societies. Rather than selling puppies who were ripped from their litter at 8 weeks old, pet stores must sell rescued animals or will face a $500 fine. (In our opinion, that feels like a low fee)

Next Page